Strawberry

I bought a couple of books on watercolour painting on Friday, and spent yesterday poring over them. One, by British artist Billy Showell, is a beautiful guide to painting fruit and vegetables with botanical precision. I tried her method to paint a strawberry. Three or four hours later, including a trip to the art supplies shop to get exactly the right colours, I had a studio littered with paper strawberries. This is the closest I got, but I couldn’t get anything quite like Billy’s perfect glossy red fruit. Frustrating but totally absorbing. I’m not sure I’m cut out for that level of detail, but learnt a lot in the process.

2 thoughts on “Strawberry

    • Thanks for your encouragement Linda – though I have to admit I feel like doing some really loose watercolours after all that detail! I’m sure with a lot of practice it will get easier 🙂

Leave a Reply

