EDM challenge – draw a close up part of something

This turned out to be one of my favourite challenges so far. I am a photographer, and my macro lens is the default lens on the camera as far as I am concerned. So, I chose one of my photographs, and turned it into a painting.

Georgia O’Keefe is a key inspiration to me, and she wrote:

“When you take a flower in your hand and really look at it, it’s your world for the moment. I want to give that world to someone else. Most people in the city rush around so, they have no time to look at a flower. I want them to see it whether they want to or not.”

So even if this makes you look for just a second, it’s done its job. You can see the original photo here.

10 thoughts on “EDM challenge – draw a close up part of something

  1. Hi.
    Excellent. A lovely quote and a lovely painting. Also a lovely photograph and the painting is a very good copy 🙂
    Pany.

  2. how fun!
    there’s a great quote from ms o’keefe on art quote for the day on my blog – about hy she painted her flowers sooo big…
    great painting 🙂

  3. I was looking at the original photo, and somehow I like your drawing way better =) I like the softness of the colors, and the tones… somehow that makes me feel really comfortable

    • Interesting isn’t it how we respond to different the same subject in a different medium? Your comments are always encouraging, Alex – thank you.

Leave a Reply

