EDM challenge – something you are thankful for

I found this watercolour sketch in an an old sketchbook this morning. It’s a Snake’s Head fritillary, if you don’t recognise it. Their chequered flowers appear in my garden around this time.

They are a sign of bravery after a long, cold winter. A sign that my garden is waking up again.

Every morning as I stand in the kitchen, waiting for the kettle to boil, I’m thankful for my garden. I thought only yesterday how lucky I am to look out and see green everywhere. If I had to move into a block of flats with only grey concrete to gaze at, I’d be seriously depressed.

8 thoughts on “EDM challenge – something you are thankful for

  1. Beautiful and delicate. I used to have a huge garden and flower beds. They got to be too much work for us so we sold part of our property. Last year I put in a small rased bed garden and I still have flowers in pots and beds. I agree with you. They help me feel and see the seasons come and go and I love the planting and the planning. Farm girl at heart I guess!

Leave a Reply

