Vintage

When The Daughter and I visited Saltaire a few weeks ago, we had a rummage around one of the little ‘vintage’ shops in the village. Looking through a crate of vinyl LPs, I was shocked to find someone had duplicated the record collection of my early teenage years: Cat Stevens, Gallagher & Lyle, America, Bread … So suddenly I find that my stuff is ‘vintage’. It’s a vulnerable moment.

The Daughter spotted this little coffee cup and saucer and decided they were a must-have. I am vaguely concerned that I may match their year of production.

You can see the genuine article (without the bizarrely-shaped saucer) here.

11 thoughts on “Vintage

  1. You are wrong – Cat Stevens, Seals and Crofts, Simon and Garfunkel, Jim Croce, etc. They are eternal. Therefore you (and I) are young forever. QED. I like the crosshatching in your cup. The cup, by the way, looks much older than you are – more like Englebert Humperdink.

    • Yes I like Dan’s ‘eternal’ too, and Margaret’s ‘vintage stuff lasts’ … feeling better about the vintage shop already 😉

  2. Pingback: Vintage | Visual Aide

Leave a Reply

