Iris

 

Back from a lovely weekend away from the building site that is my kitchen at the moment. My mum-in-law looked after us wonderfully, and provided us with a welcome break from microwave meals. I had a great time exploring the huge garden, and took over 50 photos as reference pictures for drawings. That little lot should keep me busy for a while. She also keeps a stack of gardening magazines, and it was in one of these that I found a great photo of an iris and decided to draw it. I only wished I’d taken my paints with me, but I’m sure this will be the basis of a watercolour at some point.

Having had such a restful weekend, it was a bit of a shock to the system when the plasterers arrived at 7.30 am this morning. But the new room is taking shape, and I’m excited about how it’s going to look in a week or two.

9 thoughts on “Iris

  1. Hi Sue,

    I’ve realized that you’ve been stopping by my blog, but somehow I haven’t repaid the visit until now! Or, if I did stop by before, it must have been in a flurry of visits, as I neglected to add you to my follow list. I have done that now, and look forward to future visits to your beautiful work. (As a fan of simple pencil drawings, i find your iris sketch really lovely…amazing blooms, aren’t they?) I think we like similar botanical subjects, and other subjects as well: like you, I even drew a bar of soap a while back!

  2. This is stunningly beautiful! Love the mix of styles… strong outlines, soft textures, gorgeous cross-hatch =) It’s the perfect cocktail of techniques!

Leave a Reply

