Out of the swing of the sea

Another idea that’s been floating around my head for ages. It’s a poem called Heaven-Haven (A nun takes the veil) by Victorian religious and nature poet, Gerard Manley Hopkins that I’ve loved since first reading it at university about a hundred years ago.

I’ve written it out below, as the text in the sketchbook is a bit tiny and mainly there to try out the layout. Now I’m about as religious as a baked potato, but I don’t think you have to be religious to feel that longing for a safe haven from all the stuff life occasionally decides to throw at you.

The poem reads: I have desired to go where springs not fail,/To fields where flies no sharp and sided hail/And a few lilies blow./And I have asked to be where no storms come,/Where the green swell is in the havens dumb,/And out of the swing of the sea.

5 thoughts on “Out of the swing of the sea

  1. Hi Sue, the idea of being as religious as a baked potato made me laugh out loud! I understand exactly what you mean with this poem, and now i’m going to see if I can find a book by Hopkins in the library… thankyou!
    Charlotte

  2. It’s lovely, and I can totally relate to the poem. When I was in high school, I decided I wanted to become a nun. The only problem was …. I wasn’t Catholic (or any other religion, for that matter)! But the seeming serenity and predictability of that life seemed so desirable compared with the chaos of my life at the time. nancy

Leave a Reply

