Pas de deux

I’d been wanting to paint these birds for a while now, so this morning I finally got round to it.

(I was inspired by a beautiful watercolour from the John Reeves collection in a book published by the Natural History Museum. I’m hoping to see the painting when I visit the museum in January.)

As research last night, I had a wander (and a wonder as it turned out) round the internet, and came across this short video. So lovely, and so sad that these rare birds are facing extinction. How ironic that they are a symbol of longevity and immortality. Hope you enjoy their ballet as much as I did.

8 thoughts on “Pas de deux

  1. What a neat video. I’ve never seen the dancing cranes and the music was a perfect compliment. Your painting captured the lightness and movement of the dance.

Leave a Reply

