Now and then, a white elephant

A poem by German poet, Rilke, about the carousel in the Jardin du Luxembourg in Paris. I remember this being read to me in my final year at school by my brilliant and funny German teacher. Inspired by him, I went on to study German at university.

I found out a couple of years ago that he had passed away, way too early.

You only get a few of those teachers in life. My kids have been taught by one or two. They make a real impact.

 

One thought on “Now and then, a white elephant

  1. A–I love Rilke too
    B–you’re so right about those rare wonderful teachers!! If not for one of them I wouldn’t be a blog poet today!

    I so enjoyed my visit–wishing you the best of the new year! God bless you.

Leave a Reply

