These are a few of my favourite things …

The Husband loves to cook. I sat down yesterday evening with my sketchbook after a delicious dinner (sea bass, mussels, squid, fennel in a tomato sauce) and thought about how much I enjoy eating. We are a very foody family. The Son can eat for Britain, and needs to, as he is burning up a ridiculous number of calories with all the sporting activity he does each day. The Daughter, a graphic design student, told me that her dream job would be to travel the world working for a food magazine.

All credit to The Husband, who brought them up to think of trying new foods as an exciting adventure. (I will always remember eating out in a restaurant in Ireland. The Son, aged about 5 at the time, asked for the special fish dish of the day. The waiter looked dubious, and asked if he might like to look at the children’s menu instead. The Son was resolute. An enormous fish stew was placed before him, and he polished off every last mouthful.) We were very lucky. I know plenty of people whose kids refused to eat anything other than baked beans on toast or processed cheese triangles for years.

So I started thinking about my favourite foods, and came up with the sketchbook page (below). I wondered what other people’s choices might be, and how their pages would look. I also thought about how a special meal, say a wedding menu or anniversary dinner could be captured. Or a favourite family recipe illustrated.

So I’ll be offering a bespoke food drawing/lettering service in the etsy shop. Food + drawing + hand drawn type. Definitely some of my favourite things.

If you’d like to help me out with a bit of research, please leave a comment and your name will be drawn out of the proverbial hat (or perhaps a mixing bowl is more appropriate?) to win your own free illustrated A4 foody favourites in either watercolour (at the top of the page) or coloured digitally (as below). The winner’s name will be picked at random at (UK) midday on Friday 17th February, and announced here on the blog (so you’ll need to check back).

18 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite things …

  1. How funny, we had a similar experience in the west coast of Scotland when son also aged 5 ordered a plate of muscles, much to the amusement and confusion of the waiting staff and other customers! What a lovely idea, illustrated food.

    • Hi Jutta – yes, I’ve done calligraphy on and off since I was in my early teens. My father had very beautiful handwriting, so I think that made me want to learn.

  2. Well, first of all, your sketches made me hungry (Im aslo a huge fan of trying out new foods, its super exciting), love to cook and learning as I go.
    Thankfully, my kids also like to try out new flavours, and thats huge when it comes to our daughter whos autistic.. So we have also been lucky.

    Some of my favourite things to eat, is hand rolls with mango and shrimp (love sushi), also love a great salad with avocados, nuts and grilled chicken, Or a good old Swedish Christmas ham with Finnish Turnip caserol… Okay, now Im really hungry!!!!! But what I really like about cooking or baking, is to use my Grandmother’s and mum’s old wood kitchen tools and old chipped bowls (the same bowl I remember as a kid baking with mum)

    Lovely drawings, love the texts.

  3. Delicious lettering! Count me in please! Some of my favourites are: chocolate cake, eggplant parmigiana, lobster salad, fish and chips, cucumbers, crema catalana, teriyaki shrimp, pozole (mexican dish), lemon juice, raspberries…

  4. Pingback: And the winner is … «

  5. Hi, Sue. Just now I am having time to visit your lovely blog. Why aren’t you showing up in classes (ABSPD)? You definitely could be a greater contributtor, with those special drawings habilities. Great work. Congrats.
    On food: corn souflè, pizza, caramel pudding… I know the contest is over, only to let you know.
    All the best.

    • Thanks Bethania – lovely to see you here 🙂 I’ve been working away on surface pattern design in the background – life got a bit busy. Hoping to do module 3 either at the end of April or the next time round – you too?

Leave a Reply

