Red

I’ve been re-reading one of my favourite books on creativity: Trust the Process by Shaun McNiff. In it, he talks about the importance of being goal-less sometimes, just allowing ourselves to ‘play’.

The creative imagination requires a certain abandon and disregard for results, which often paradoxically generates the most useful outcomes.

This morning was all about playing. I painted a series of five or six experiments with different watercolour mixes and using different tools (the one above was mostly painted with an old credit card). In the process, I learnt a lot about watercolour, and a lot about the kind of mark-making that is unique to me. I looked back at some paintings and drawings I had done years ago, and recognised the same kind of gestures and movements on the paper.

Interesting idea to not be attached to an outcome before you begin, but just to see what emerges.

 

2 thoughts on “Red

  1. It’s so interesting to read this on your blog today, I’ve been thinking a lot about the importance of “play” in creativity, and have also been experimenting with tools other than brushes. Thanks for mentioning the book, I’m going to look for it!

  2. Hello Sue,
    Yes, quite right. That is what I have been doing with my recent portraits. Drawing with a fountain pen then brushing water over and letting the ink bleed. There is a tiny bit of control but you never can tell what will happen.
    Stew.

Leave a Reply

