TV sketches

After a couple of days ill in bed, I felt a bit better last night and wanted to draw something. I decided to catch up on some TV programmes I’d recorded, and sketched people as I watched. The programme was one of a series about the art nouveau movement at the turn of the 20th century, and as an inveterate note-taker, I couldn’t resist scribbling down bits and pieces as I listened.

The last sketch was supposed to be a very young Paul Simon (one of my favourite singer-songwriters) in a brilliant programme about the making of the ‘Bridge over Troubled Water’ album with Art Garfunkel. I’ve had to edit his nose a bit digitally, as all the lines were beginning to look a bit like a map of the London underground.

If you’re in the UK, you can watch the first two art nouveau programmes on BBC iPlayer here. (I don’t think iPlayer is available outside the UK sadly.)

3 thoughts on “TV sketches

  1. sorry you’ve been poorly 😦
    i’m loving the art nouveau series – i never knew about mary watt’s chapel… and i loved that jug you sketched *sigh*
    and you really captured that liberty archivist 🙂

  2. hi Sue, just catching up on blog reading, yes hope you’re feeling better now, and what a great series the Art Nouveau was, I did the same and have a sketch book filled with drawings inspired by Aubrey Beardsley, Klimpt, Liberty’s and the Compton pottery.

    best wishes

    anne

Leave a Reply

