Quiet

It was a quiet day yesterday. Seems I managed to pick up a cold in the Lake District, and didn’t feel up to much generally. So I took a leaf out of artist Shirley Trevena’s book (DVD actually) and decided to create a colour chart.

Trevena is one of my favourite artists, and if you like her unconventional style of watercolours, there is plenty to learn. She recommends creating a chart of all your paints, two squares per colour. First you paint a square almost straight out of the tube. Next to it, you paint a very pale diluted mix of the same colour. This gives you the range of possibilities for each tube.

It was an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon. The bonus for me was that the finished chart made me look with fresh eyes at the colours I have, and the possibilities for combining them.

I ended up painting the quiet little picture below onto some new paper I wanted to test. The objects were just what happened to be in front of me on the windowsill (the odd egg-shaped thing is a candle).

Can’t wait to get back up to full speed now, but I’m glad in a way I slowed down enough to make the chart.

2 thoughts on “Quiet

  1. What a good idea, Sue. I have never had the patience or industry to do this. I used to spend a lot of time mixing watercolors preparatory to painting. Now I just dive in and mix as I go. I like your chart though, so I might make one one of these days.

Leave a Reply

