Pied Wagtail

I love these dapper little birds and originally wanted to do an ink drawing of one. I came across the fantastic bird photographs of Richard Pegler and asked his permission to use his lovely clear shot of a pied wagtail as a reference.

I did the drawing, but wanted to try something a bit different. So I made a linocut print (my first) and am pleased to report that I still have all ten digits.

If you’re a bird/wildlife fan, do take a look at Richard’s lovely blog – there are some amazing pictures of owls, terns, kittiwakes, puffins and even seals there.

7 thoughts on “Pied Wagtail

  1. I love pied-wagtails, wonderful birds. I love watching the way they run around the carpark while you are parked up .
    Fantastic linocut – And congratulations on still having the correct amount of fingers!
    Stew.

  2. that is a lovely linocut! your first??? it’s very skilled, with a lot of life and movement, lovely. Liz A. ________________________________

Leave a Reply

