Yellow lilies

I bought some flowers a few days ago, mainly for the beautiful cream and pink brassica flowers. Along with them came some lily stems, still very tightly in bud. The buds were an amazing lime green. Over the next few days, the buds then started to turn orangey-yellow. The other morning, I glanced up to find that the first flower was out, and it was a kind of cadmium yellow I’ve rarely seen before in a flower – a very welcome shot of colour over the grey and dark weekend the clocks went back. The brassicas were relegated to second league while I painted these lilies over and over in my sketchbook.

Going back to the sketchbook, by the way, is turning out to be the best decision I’ve made in a long time. There is a lot of work in there which is destined for the recycling bin, but each experiment has definitely proved worthwhile.

11 thoughts on “Yellow lilies

  1. Your blog is one of my favorites. I love the feel and inspiration of your blog and wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you this a.m. for the “Very Inspiring Blogger” award! – Please stop by and pick up your award!

  2. Pingback: 15: Between Nature Photography and Abstract Painting. | Almofate's Likes

Leave a Reply

