Good idea, Mr Longfellow

I hadn’t come across these lines before. They are featured in a beautiful book by Gillian Hazeldine on contemporary calligraphy, so I thought I’d use them to practise. The idea of the book is that you first learn all the rules of formal calligraphy. And then you are quite at liberty to mess around with them and break them.

So I’m currently experiencing the very s-l-o-w phase of re-learning all the formal scripts that I’ve forgotten. It’s best not to be in a hurry with this stuff, as it seems to take ages to get back up to speed. However, there will come a point when each script will suddenly become second nature again.

I love the lines, but couldn’t find which poem they’re taken from. Anyone know?
hl

6 thoughts on “Good idea, Mr Longfellow

  1. What a great quote, and one I might borrow for the Portsoy weather patterns project. Your script has the ebb and flow of the ink just like the ebb and flow of the waves in the lines. Beautiful. Ax

  2. Oh my gosh I know exactly what you mean about the fundamental hands of calligraphy. I had a problem where I jumped right into these fancy blackletters right after I sorta got a handle on italic and textus. Now I’m back at the start limiting myself to italic and such. : P
    Lovely, lovely, contemporary italic you got going here, though!

    • Thanks Sarah – pleased to hear it’s not just me! I’m attending a calligraphy workshop this weekend, so I’ll be posting on what I discover 🙂 Happy practising!

Leave a Reply

