Japanese pond

The five weeks I’ve spent doing the final module of the online surface pattern design course have flown by. I can’t recommend the course highly enough for learning both the design/technical skills and the business skills involved in pattern design. It’s run by Rachael Taylor and Beth Nicholls, and there’s more info here if it’s something you’re interested in.

I spent yesterday putting together this collection. This was inspired by an exercise in drawing larger than I usually do, on a piece of wallpaper lining paper stuck on my studio wall. The idea was to simply doodle with marker pens, and see if any useful ideas came up.

A combination of the Japanese style motifs I drew , and the slightly 1950s colour palette I spotted on a magazine cover resulted in this little pattern collection.
JapanesePondcollection

And how the designs might look as a wallpaper and fabrics:

roomset

yellowrectangles

wpcushion

And just to experiment with how different another colourway can look, I tried this palette (which I personally would find easier to live with long term!).

JPCtaupe

2 thoughts on “Japanese pond

Leave a Reply

