London calling

vanda

Yesterday, I spent the day in London. With train travel time now just an hour and forty minutes from home, this is a very do-able exercise. I headed straight for the Victoria & Albert Museum and decided to look at whatever took my eye. Highlights for me this time were the section on the art and design of Japan (sadly, no photography allowed in that section for some reason), the beautiful glowing colours of the stained glass (below), the ceramics section on the top floor (from where I took the photo of a side entrance to the V&A above), and the theatre and performance gallery with the lovely poster from 1759 pictured below.

sg

billboard

ravilious1

Ceramics by illustrator Eric Ravilious

ravilious2

tgplate

Plate in the V&A shop by Thierry Guetta

After a morning there, I went across to another favourite haunt, the Natural History Museum, which was ringing with the sound of a multitude of excited kids and beleaguered parents (mainly drawn to the dinosaur exhibition). I escaped the throngs and retreated to the peace of the botanical illustration section, which was focused on a very different scale to the dramatic dinosaur skeletons in the rooms across the corridor. This macro view of the world at the intersection of art and science fascinates me. Sadly I couldn’t get many photos of the beautiful artworks in there as the light is low to protect the watercolours, but you can see some in this video.

After that, there was still a little time for a look in Liberty’s on a flooded Regent Street due to a spectacularly burst water main before heading home.

The Husband meanwhile had walked around 15 miles, choosing to explore London on foot and managing to capture a little bit of sun.

londonsun

8 thoughts on “London calling

  1. Sounds like a pleasantly fruitful day, Sue, and thank you for sharing the photos. I haven’t been to the V & A for years. I particularly like the plate with the wonderful inscription!

  2. I’ve only been to England once and did manage to get to the Victoria and Albert Museum. I sew as a hobby and spent my time in the area that displayed all the clothing from over the many centuries. It probably wasn’t the best use of the limited time, but it was delightful. It would be nice to return, but since it’s not likely, I appreciate you sharing your visit with us.

Leave a Reply

