Exploring

Yesterday, there was a bit of a hoo hah amongst the group of surface pattern designers I belong to. One design company seemed to imply that digital designs were in some way inferior to (at least beginning with) hand drawn designs. As some designers work best by diving straight in to work on the computer, this ruffled some feathers.

(I think the important point was simply that this design company prefers some hand drawn element to the designs it chooses to put its name to.)

To me, it doesn’t really matter what you use, as long as the final design is attractive. Digital tools are just another art supply, as artist David Hockney is now finding. His artist’s statement on the site reflects that view.

Having worked on the tiny wood engraving yesterday (and you don’t get much more old school than that) I needed some big, bold shapes, colours and textures. Inspired by this BlogSpoonGraphics post and this colorlovers.com palette by Donna Doodle, I put this together.

I am pleased to have gathered art supplies both old (pencils, watercolours and printmaking) and new (acrylics, Illustrator and Photoshop). And I love to explore and combine them. How about you? Do you think digital art is on a par with traditional forms? Or do you prefer one style to the other?

(The irony here is that it wouldn’t be possible to share our art and our views without the birth of blogging of course!)
park

6 thoughts on “Exploring

  1. Well I think this design is excellent!
    I started painting with a graphics tablet but I prefer oil paint and graphite really. But that is just what I enjoy using, I don’t think either is better than the other. In illustration it would be hard to do without digital these days as it is much quicker and easier to make adjustments to colour etc.

  2. Sue, I stirred up quite a debate on this subject a couple of years ago: http://judyadamsonartanddesign.blogspot.co.uk/2010/10/digital-art.html

    And followed it up with this ‘Seven Artists’ Reasons not to go Digital’ – http://judyadamsonartanddesign.blogspot.co.uk/2010/11/seven-artists-reasons-not-to-go-digital.html

    Apologies for all these links, Sue. It’s an interesting question and if I start replying to it here, it’ll end up as a full-blown essay 🙂

Leave a Reply

