Mock orange

I arrived back home at lunchtime after a flying visit to the beautiful city of Durham. I was up there for this year’s graduates’ dinner at my old college. Those students certainly know how to party. I left disgracefully early, which was probably just as well as I had an early train back this morning. Let’s just say there weren’t many party-goers joining me for breakfast at 8.00 am.

Feeling in need of a little rest and relaxation, I made myself a coffee and wandered round the garden in the sunshine. The philadelphus (mock orange) is in full swing and the perfume is delightful.  I decided to try and capture a stem in the sketchbook for future reference.

Have a good weekend!

philadelphus

4 thoughts on “Mock orange

  1. that is a truly beautiful drawing. I am amazed at your efforts the morning after a party – in fact anyway – you do so much drawing from life so often. A great example to us attempting to be artists x

    • Thank you Gabriella – it was a good way to recover 🙂 And I think I always learn soooo much more drawing from the thing in front of me than from a photo. I love Frederick Franck’s quote: “What I have not drawn, I have never really seen.”

Leave a Reply

