Like a thousand tiny butterflies

Now if you’re a regular visitor to this blog, you’ll know that I love rich, vibrant colours – especially in flowers. However, I’ve been giving some thought to how I want my new office/studio to look and feel. It occurred to me that the environment I find most conducive to creating in is actually quite neutral, with just a splash of colour here and there. My ideal (never yet achieved in reality) would be pretty monastic: totally uncluttered and calm. So, with that thought in mind, I thought I’d create a series of watercolours featuring white flowers. I love the combination of various greens of the foliage and white flowers and think they will add just enough colour to the room.

The first is a beautiful hydrangea, planted last autumn from a cutting given to me by my green-fingered mum-in-law. I thought the hard frosts we had in the spring might have killed this one off, but the blooms are now frothing and bubbling above the dark green leaves, the flowers like a thousand tiny butterflies.

I have a batch of new card designs to print, and I’ll be adding this one to them shortly.

whitehydrangea2

6 thoughts on “Like a thousand tiny butterflies

  1. Pingback: 103: Driftwood, Palettes, Butterflies and more. | Almofate's Likes

Leave a Reply

