Sepia self portrait

I’ve been practising drawing portraits from beautifully lit photos in magazines and online. So, great for learning, but for copyright reasons, I can’t publish them here on the blog.

However, one sitter who is always available to me is myself, so I’ve been doing some self portraits. This one was drawn with sepia ink and a stick from the garden. It’s becoming a favourite way to capture an initial overall impression loosely, without getting caught up in little details.

More recently, I’ve started to experiment with ink and watercolour and will post something when I happen to get a result I’m pleased with.

spjan15

2 thoughts on “Sepia self portrait

Leave a Reply

